The Seduction by Joanna Briscoe

 



Ranking: 
Title: The Seduction 
Author: Joanna Briscoe
Publication Date: August 2020

A haunting story of motherhood and obsession for fans of Sharp Objects and Give Me Your Hand.

Beth Penn lives a peaceful life with her partner Sol and their daughter Fern. But Beth is troubled by increasing unease. She cannot shake her uncertainty over her mother, who disappeared when Beth was a child, and she has a sense that her daughter is keeping secrets from her.

So she goes to therapy. Dr. Tamara Bywater is there to help her patients. But what if the very person who is meant to be the solution becomes the most dangerous problem of all? And why is what's bad for us so enticing?

Taut and atmospheric, The Seduction is a disturbing journey into the darkness of the human mind. 

The story could be promising, but then the flow of the story was so sloow.. I constantly find myself drifting out of the story. I admit the story was dark and compelling at times, but I am very disappointed not only with the style of writing but also how the story turned out in the end. It was frustrating and I kept on thinking that the characters failed to connect with me. Why does all the characters seems to be in negative emotions. Its just annoying and depressing.


0 comments:

Post a comment